The Foundation

The Tom Sharpe Foundation is a non-profit organisation that aims to foster the study and promotion of this writer’s literary work, both in Catalonia and abroad. The Foundation is governed by its statutes and by the provisions established by the board of trustees. The Tom Sharpe Foundation receives support from the Town Hall of Palafrugell and the Diputació de Girona.


Montserrat Verdaguer Clavera

Degree in Medicine and Surgery, University of Barcelona, 1977. Neurologist, University of Barcelona, 1982. Psychiatrist, San Juan de Dios Hospital Barcelona, 1986. Executor of the Tom Sharpe legacy.

Vice President

José Maria Pérez-Collados

Chair in History of Law, University of Girona Before this he was a researcher at the National Autonomous University of Mexico and several universities in Chile, the University of Zaragoza, the Autonomous University of Barcelona and the University of Birmingham. Author: he has written various works on political history, including “Los discursos políticos del México originario” (The political discourses of early Mexico), poetry “Lo que no te conté de mis viajes” (What I didn’t tell you about my travels), novels, “El Tren de Cristal” (The glass train) and “Ahora que ya no estás” (Now you are not here). He edits the legal culture journal “Ius Fugit”, is managing editor of the publisher “Nuevos Rumbos”, director of editorial policy for the “Network of Reading Universities” which brings together over 50 universities from Spain, Italy, Russia, Portugal and various countries in the Americas and of the “Novela de Campus” (Campus novel) collection of the Renacimiento publishing house.


Josep Maria Prat Sàbat

Lawyer. Previously: Secretary of the Provincial Chamber of Agriculture of Girona. Dean of the Association of Lawyers of Girona from 1995 to 2005. Member of the Council of the Associations of Lawyers of Catalonia. Member of the Social Council of the University of Girona. Member of the General Council of Spanish Lawyers. President of the Girona regional section of the Compulsory Purchase Panel of Catalonia. He holds the Cross of Honour of Sant Raimundo de Penyafort 2002. He is currently a trustee of the Foundation of the General Council of Spanish Lawyers. He is a member of various national and international jurists’ associations.

Representative of Ajuntament de Palafrugell

Juli Fernández Iruela



Anna Caballé Masforroll
Lecturer in Spanish Literature at the University of Barcelona. Head of the Biography Studies Unit, Department of Hispanic Philology, University of Barcelona. Tinker Visiting Professor 2016, University of Chicago. President of “Classics and Modern Association”. Gaziel Biography and Memoir Prize 2009: “Carmen Laforet, una mujer en fuga” (Carmen Laforet: A woman in flight). Manuel Alvar Humanities Prize 2015: “Pasé la mañana escribiendo. Poéticas del diarismo español” (I spent the morning writing: The poetics of Spanish diarism). Author, her most significant works include “Francisco Umbral, el frío de una vida” (Francisco Umbral: The cold of a life), “Cinco conversaciones con Carlos Castilla del Pino” (Five conversations with Carlos Castilla del Pino), “Una breve historia de la misoginia” (A short history of misogyny), “El bolso de Ana Karenina” (Anna Karenina’s bag), “Sobre la vida y obra de Paulino Masip” (The life and work of Paulino Masip), “El feminismo en España” (Feminism in Spain), “La vida escrita por las mujeres” (Life written by women), “Concepción Arenal, la caminante y su sombra”.
Carme Fenoll Clarabuch
Diploma in Library Sciences and Documentation from the University of Barcelona. Degree in Documentation from the Open University of Catalonia. Head of the Vice Chancellor’s Office, Polytechnic University of Catalonia. Former director of Palafrugell library. Former director of the Libraries Service of the Department of Culture of the Generalitat of Catalonia.
Xavier Rocas Gutiérrez
Archaeologist and museologist. Director of the Terracotta Ceramics Museum in La Bisbal d’Empordá. Council Member for Culture at Palafrugell Council from 2003 to 2015. Author of the books “Enrajolats. La Bisbal 1839–1980” (Tiled floors: La Bisbal 1839–1980) and “Ceràmica i arquitectura. Els Coromina, Rafael Masó i la gènesi de La Gabarra” (Ceramics and architecture: The Corominas, Rafael Masó and the genesis of La Gabarra) as well as over a hundred specialist articles.
Isabel Verdaguer Clavera
Chair in English Philology, University of Barcelona. Head of the Department of English and German Philology at the University of Barcelona from 2009 to 2013. Co-author of the books “De Clásicos y Traducciones” (Of classics and translations) and “Biomedical English: A corpus-based study” and author of numerous book chapters and specialist articles. Diploma in Linguistics from the University of Reading, visiting researcher at the University of Birmingham, the Catholic University of Leuven, the University of Gothenburg and Simon Fraser University. PhD Coordinator (2014–2017) and member of the Senate of the University of Barcelona.
Rosa Regàs i Pagès
Writer, Publisher, Translator, Journalist. Licensed in Philosophy and Lyrics in Barcelona University. Publisher in the Publishing Houses “ Seix Barral” and “La Gaya Ciencia”. Translator in The United Nations Organization in Geneve. Chief Executive of “ El Ateneo Americano de la Casa de América” Madrid from 1994 to 1998. Chief Executive of “ Biblioteca Nacional de España” from 2004 to 2007. Literary Prize winner “Premi Nadal” for the literary work “Azul” in 1994. Great Honour “Premi Ciutat de Barcelona” for the literary work “Luna Lunera” in 1999. Literary Prize winner “Premi Planeta” for the literary work “La Canción de Dorotea” in 2001. “Chevalier Légion d’honneur de la République Français” in 2005. Prize winner “Creu de Sant Jordi” in 2005. Literary Prize winner “Biblioteca Breu” for the literary work “Música de Cámara” in 2013.
Xavier Pla i Barbero
Doctor of Catalan Philology. Professor of Catalan Literature and Literature Theory in Girona University.  Doctor of Letters by Université de Paris-Sorbonne. Chief Executive “Chair Josep Pla” and member of the Foundation Josep Pla. Cheif Executive “Chair Tom Sharpe” and member of the Foundation Tom Sharpe. Literary Prize winner “Critica Serra d’Or” for the literary work “Josep Pla: ficció autobiogràfica i veritat literària” in 1998. Literary Prize winner “Joan Fuster d’assaig” for the literary work “Simenon i la connexió catalana” in 2006. Winner of “Premi Nacional de Cultura” in 2015.